Australian Capital Territory- Where History was Made

Posted by Jeremy Storer on August 23, 2011

Australian Capital Territory which was federated in 1901 is the capital territory of Commonwealth of Australia. Also known as Bush Capital the Australian Capital Territory is entirely surrounded by the huge state of New South Wales and has got only an area of 100 sq. km of its own. Canberra is its capital and is named after ancient native term for meeting place as the state was formed as a neutral place for decision making. Canberra the capital city of the ACT which is also the national capital was precisely designed and constructed to be the home of federal parliament, serving politicians, ministers and associated public servants.

Some of the major attractions are Parliament House, the High Court, National Science and Technology Centre, National Library, Royal Australian Mint and the Australian War Memorial. Lake Burley Griffin which is manmade is another attraction the northern region of Australian Capital Territory. The southern region got the attractions like the Namadgi National Park and the adjoining Tidbinbilla Nature Reserve. Bushwalking and hiking, cycling, canoeing, skiing, white water rafting, caving, hot air ballooning are some other attraction which can be experienced.