Blue Mountains- The World Heritage

Posted by Jeremy Storer on May 24, 2011

The mountainous region of New South Wales, Australia known as Blue Mountains whose borders cover the Sydney’s metropolitan area and its foothills begins from approximately 50 km from the west of the state capital. From the west side of the Nepean River, the area starts and increases westward as far as the Coxs River. Its area consists of the local government areas of the City of Blue Mountains, the City of Hawkesbury, the City of Lithgow and Oberon, also contains the seven national park area and a conservations reserve.

Due to the unique eucalypt varieties that grace its 1 million hectares area the Blue Mountains in New South Wales, Australia has been announced as the UNESCO World Heritage. The national parks which the area contains offer the sleight seeing possible in the Blue Mountains, symbolized by sites like the Three Sisters and the Jenolan Caves, which attract thousands of visitors annually.